Tuesday, July 15, 2008


Philippines National Championship Finals Ends!

by Bobby Ang Monday, 14 July 2008

After three months of eliminations involving thousands of players nationwide, the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) concluded the cycle with an 18 player all-play-all (open division) and a 12 player all-play-all (women's division) held from July 1-13, 2008.

Three-time National Junior Champion IM John Paul Gomez stormed out of the starting blocks with a mind-numbing 9.5/10, earned for himself a GM norm by the 13th round, and coasted home the rest of the way to crown himself champion of this chess-crazy country.

Currently the youngest grandmaster in the world, 14-year old Wesley So finished half a point back and a further point back was comebacking (for the 4th time!) GM Bong Villamayor who left his teaching position in Singapore to try and regain the form which made him the Philippines' highest rated player in 2001.

The NCFP President, Congressman Prospero Pichay announced the composition of the national squad to the 2008 Dresden Chess Olympiad: IM John Paul Gomez, GM Wesley So, GM Buenaventura Villamayor, GM Jayson Gonzales and GM Darwin Laylo

In addition to that the Philippine team to the Beijing Mind Games to be held later this year was also announced:
GM Mark Paragua, IM Chito Garma, Leonardo Carlos, IM Rolando Nolte and IM Julio Catalino Sadorra.

This breaks the consecutive-Olympiad streak of GM Eugene Torre, who did not participate in the Grand Finals. He was both Junior and Adult Champion in the Philippines in 1970 but gave way to the Asian Zone Champion Renato Naranja as top board player in the Siegen Olympiad. Eugene then registered a record by playing top board in 17 straight Olympiads, from Skopje 1972 up to Calvia de Mallorca in 2004. His 19 consecutive appearances in the Olympiad team (the 17 above plus 1970 Siegen and 2006 Turin) is also a record.

Cong. Pichay lamented GM Torre's inability to take part in the competition, but averred that the rules for the selection to the Olympiad team were announced several months ago and he did not want to be the one to break them.

For the Women's Team to the Dresden Olympiad the top five finishers were Catherine Perena, Shercila Cua, Daisy Rivera, Chardine Cheradee Camacho and Christy Lamiel Bernales.

For detailed results and the games, please go to

Asian Chess Academy Dubai Branch Inaugurated
by Fide.com, 12 June 2008

Asian Chess Federation President Sheikh Sultan bin Khalifah Al Nahyan was Guest of Honor at the ribbon cutting ceremony on 12 June 2008 inaugurating the Asian Chess Academy Dubai branch at the Reef Mall in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

In photo are, from left, Asian Chess Academy president Josefino Tiberio, Reef Mall Leasing Manager Samer Ghazi, Sheikh Sultan bin Khalifah Al Nahyan, Asian Chess Federation Secretary General Hisham Al Taher, Reef Mall Operations Manager Bruce von Kaufmann and Reef Mall Resident Architect Rolly D. Ariante. (Photo by Dr. Hisham El Gendy)

The Asian Chess Academy in Dubai was established under the auspices of the Asian Chess Federation. Asian Deputy President Casto Abundo said at the ceremonies that the Academy responds to the request of many local and expatriate families in Dubai for a chess academy for their children to learn and for advanced players to improve their game.

ACA-Dubai president Joey Tiberio thanked the Reef Mall management for their support and said that the site was centrally located and ideal for parents and children.

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?