Friday, June 30, 2006


FCPL RAK Chapter 2nd Rapid Chess Championship

Mr. Muammar Al Muhairi, representative of His Highness Sheikh Salem Bin Sultan Al Qassimi and Mr. Darwish Hassouneh, the General Manager of Super Bowling, were among the sponsors and guests of honour of the recently held FCPL rapid chess tournament in the Super Bowling hall in Ras Al-Khaimah on Friday, 23 June 2006.

With a total of 18 participants from the Emirates of Dubai, Sharjah and Ras Al-Khaimah, the tournament was organised by the Filipino Chess Players League (FCPL) spearheaded by FCPL-Ras Al-Khaimah chairman, Mr. Lino Fabrigas, with assistance from Ms. Maria Fajardo who arranged the venue and prizes for this event.

The tournament was scheduled under the 7 round Swiss System regulation with 15 minutes on the clock allocated to each player.

Onin Payoket, who became the eventual champion, dominated the field of participants in the early rounds of the tournament. With his impressive 5 consecutive wins, Onin Payoket continued to display his brilliant skills on the board by taking on Michael Diagbil and Allan Salac on a decisive draw in the 6th and 7th rounds respectively to capture the 1st place with a high score of 6.0 points.

(From Left: Marz, Onin, Mr. Al Muhairi & Mr. Hassouneh)

Axel John Valerio, a sensation 12 years old player from Sharjah, won the 2nd place by crushing Mel Cabangon with black pieces in the final round with a score of 5.5 points and Michael Diagbil of FCPL-Dubai took the 3rd place by beating Rolly Viente in the final round with 5 points.

The top three winners received a trophy and cash whilst the participants finishing 4th to 10th each received a medal awarded by Mr. Al Muhairi and Mr. Darwish in the closing ceremony.

(From Left: Marz, Axel, Mr. Al Muhairi & Mr. Hassouneh)

Final Results

Onin Payoket (6.0), Axel John Valerio (5.5), Michael Diagbil (5.0), Mohammed Koya (5.0), Allan Salac (4.5), Rolly Viente (4.0), Mel Cabangon (4.0), Arthur Cabatit (3.5), Paul Ducalang (3.5), Ronald Ducalang (3.5), Arthur Cabatit (3.5), Ronald Osio (3.0), Ralph Mancao (3.0), Rolando Bautista (3.0), Rey Dimatatac (2.5), Manny Dela Cruz (2.0), Lino Fabrigas (2.0), Richard Casem (2.0), Ferdinand Hiteroza (1.0).

************************************************************************************** TOURNAMENT PHOTO

Trophies for 1st, 2nd and 3rd

Rolly Viente awarded a medal by Mr. Al Muhairi, Mr. Hassouneh and Marz Marcial

Another medal awardee from FCPL-RAK

Mel Cabangon of FCPL-Dubai Chairman receives his medal

Paul Ducalang of FCPL-Dubai

Francis Ducalang of FCPL-Dubai

Ronald Osio vs Ralph Mancao

Marz Marcial, the tournament director and FCPL President, briefed the participants of the tournament regulation under the FIDE rules and conduct

Comments: Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?