Tuesday, October 05, 2010


August Active Chess Tournament

Results of the FCPL August Active Chess Tournament at Reef Mall.

Final Standings After 6 Rounds

Photo Gallery

Tournament winners and officials (from left) Dennis Franco (6th), 
FCPL President Jobannie Tabada (3rd), FCPL VP Larry Dolor, 
Samer Mehdi (champion), Rajesh V (Top Kiddie), FCPL adviser 
Marz Marcial, Erwin Dimarucut (5th), Richard Perez (Top Under-1900), 
Marvin Marcos (4th) and Rolenson Loyola (2nd)

Tournament champion Samer Mehdi of Iran flanked 
by FCPL officials Larry Dolor (left) and Marz Marcial
 1st Runner-up Rolenson Loyola

Fifth placer Erwin Dimarucut
Top Under-1700 Edward Arieta

 Top Under-1800 Bonnie Bonifacio

Top Under-1900 Richard Perez

Top Kiddie Rajesh V

 Loyola battling Mohamad Asif of India in the first round. 
Loyola prevailed.
 Junior player Axel John Valerio victorious over Raymond Dolor 
in the first round.
 Bonnie and Eddie Dural sneaking in a blitz game 
in between rounds.
 Dennis Franco scores the full point over 
Marz Marcial in round 1.
 Kibitzers gather around as Macky Ingcongan (left) and 
Rolenson Loyola slug it out in a bishop and pawns endgame. 
Loyola missed a win in time trouble, while Ingcongan returned 
the favor by likewise missing a winning line.
The game ended in a draw.
 A closer inspection of the endgme.
 Ronald Pernez on the way to scoring a big upset win 
over top-seed Fide Master Antonio Molina Sr. in the 
first round. Molina was pressing for a win when he 
suffered a mental lapse to give away his 
queen without compensation.


Comments: Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?